Mallory Boulware

This is a blog for PR Writing

Guest Speaker Jeff Houck April 13, 2010

Filed under: COMM 4333,PR Connections — mbboulware @ 2:50 pm

Last week in our PR Writing class, we had a guest speaker come in. Jeff Houck writes for the Tampa Tribune and shared some very interesting things with us. Some of the things I learned included:

  • The best way to connect with someone is to meet them face-to-face
  • Journalists are annoyed my embargo dates
  • Journalists want people to sell them a story- not a product
  • Four Square is yet another social networking site
 

2 Responses to “Guest Speaker Jeff Houck”

  1. echertha Says:

    Mallory,
    I really enjoyed Jeff coming to class to educate us more on these interesting topics!
    I learned a lot from him and major things we should and should not do when speaking or connecting to a journalist.
    I am not personally a Communications Major, but with Marketing I may have to speak to Journalists every once and awhile and I am glad I now know better ways to connect with the journalist rather than be another annoying customer.
    A lot of the things that stood out to me were the same things that seemed to stick out to you.
    I think those were all interesting things the class as a while never heard before. I also thought that 4-square application was a good thing to know about. I have never heard about it until he spoke to us about it!

  2. […] Guest Speaker Jeff Houck – Mallory Boulware. […]


Leave a Reply

