Mallory Boulware

This is a blog for PR Writing

TOW Week 7: Twitter February 23, 2010

Filed under: COMM 4333,T.O.W. — mbboulware @ 5:06 pm

I always said that no matter what–I would NOT get a Facebook account. I was a Myspace kind of girl and wanted nothing to do with the new social network. After a while, though, more of my friends started trading out the fancy layouts and profile songs for the more “mature” look of Facebook. After one of my friends begged me to get on, I finally caved. Now I have him to thank for sleepless nights and avoided homework. I think most college students and many other people can agree that Facebook is addicting. I even have it as my home page! The point that I am making here is that there are certain things that take trying out and a little bit of getting used to before you develop a liking for it. So when I was assigned to get a Twitter account, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. My natural reaction was to say, “Oh no, just another thing to get involved in,” however I wanted to try to give it a chance.

The more I used it though, the less appealing it was to me. I stuck with my initial reaction and now, a week or two, later, I can honestly say my life is no different with Twitter. It didn’t help me, it didn’t teach me anything, it was honestly just a waste of time. I can understand people who get really into it, though. If I continued using it for more of a social thing, rather than for a class, I might have a slightly different attitude towards it. It just seems so pointless to constantly update people on what you’re doing at every moment. Maybe later on I will come around to it, but for now, I think I am going to say goodbye to Twitter and focus on my same ole same ole with Facebook 🙂

 

2 Responses to “TOW Week 7: Twitter”

  1. echertha Says:

    Mallory,
    I completely agree with everything you said!
    I grew up using Myspace and never thought I would use Facebook. Now that I am older, I definitely deleted the Myspace and kept the Facebook.
    I thought at one point in time that maybe the same thing would happen for Twitter and Me, but that was not the case.
    While we were using Twitter, it had no effect on my life and I had no desire to check it, or even remember I had the account.
    Twitter may be good one day, maybe when I have a job, I’m not sure… However, right now in time, Twitter is not for me!

  2. […] TOW WEEK 7 – Twitter – Mallory Boulware. […]


Leave a Reply

