Mallory Boulware

This is a blog for PR Writing

Tiger Woods Apology February 22, 2010

Filed under: COMM 4333,PR Connections — mbboulware @ 11:48 am

What do you think about this? Sincere or scripted?

I say scripted- by many, many good PR practitioners.

 

7 Responses to “Tiger Woods Apology”

  1. After we watched this in our Comm Theory class I was questioning the same thing. I have been a Tiger Woods fan since I was little, because my dad and my brother both always watched him. However, I do think that you have to take responsibility for your actions, no matter who you are. I do think that this speech was scripted and practiced, detail for detail. However, does that mean that Tiger Woods is not sincere, or not sorry? I don’t believe so. I don’t believe that it is my place to judge that.

    Aside from the debate of whether this is a genuine speech, I would like to ad that I think it is amazing that Tiger has been able to keep his life so private. He has been one of the most well known athletes in the world, yet he has managed to stay away from publicity drama. Now that, is amazing, and rarely happens.

  2. echertha Says:

    Mallory,

    Yeah, I did not know how I felt about this speech the first few times I saw it. I think I watched it a total of 4 times… not willingly! haha
    I completely agree with you, I do not think it is so sincere.
    Would he of felt bad if he did not get caught? Or would he still be doing it!?
    Before the speech was said, I heard that all of his lawyers and public relations people got together to make this interview to say. I don’t know, maybe they did not trust him to say the speech alone. I think he should of been able to say that himself. He had to read “I’m Sorry” off of the sheet at one point. I don’t know, but I do hope he is being for real, for his family’s sake.
    But in the end, it is his actions that are going to be the real answer!

  3. […] Tiger Woods Apology – Mallory Bollware. […]

  4. rmkosiek Says:

    I think the speech was scripted by many really good PR spceialists. To be honest the speech did not seem as if it were personally connected with him at all. I feel like he was just acting. I understand that under his circumstances he is just being criticized fromt eh left and right, but it just did not seem sincere.

  5. […]  rmkosiek Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation. March 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm […]

  6. It was completely and utterly scripted, and he’s a poor actor to boot. The entire speech meant nothing in my opinion. Whether or not he’s sorry about what he did is undetermined; I would assume he is, but nothing in that video said so. Personally, I’m tired of hearing about him, so I wish he would have done this in a believable manner.

    In short, yes, it was scripted, and poorly acted. Despite the fact that he’s never been known for his public speaking abilities, I still think it’s a shame, and the whole fake made me sick.


Leave a Reply

