Mallory Boulware

This is a blog for PR Writing

LinkedIn-Never Knew! February 2, 2010

Filed under: COMM 4333,PR Connections — mbboulware @ 4:05 pm

I know there are many social networking sites out there but let me be honest- Facebook is really the only one I am familiar with. Sometimes I find that I am only interested in the things that I am comfortable with. So when I saw Professor Barbara Nixon’s blog about LinkedIn, I was not interested. As I started reading, though, I realized that the website could actually be helpful when it comes time to find a job.

One thing that I especially liked when I read about LinkedIn, is that people can see recommendations from past employees or professors. It seems as though this website can only help advance your job search. You can also network with past alumni from your college or people that are currently in your field of work. This is even another way to get your name on the top of a Google search. What’s not to love?

 

4 Responses to “LinkedIn-Never Knew!”

  1. meganginger Says:

    Thanks so much for posting this! I must have missed her blog post about that and I also think that it can be very beneficial to me! So many people on my campus are looking for jobs now, that it is very hard to make yourself stand out among the crowd. Also, my mom was in the military and we were living overseas for the past three years leading up to my college career. All of my past employees are still over there and it’s really hard to get a job if the employer you want to work for can’t get a hold of your previous employer. Having everything online would definitely help me!

  2. taraparker1 Says:

    I am the same way. I never really knew how much these social networking sites could enhance your career until this year. I think that LinkedIn is a great site and it’s now so much easier to find job posting and keep up with the connections that you gain along the way.


Leave a Reply

