Mallory Boulware

This is a blog for PR Writing

Comment List: January 27, 2010

Filed under: COMM 4333,Comments — mbboulware @ 3:34 pm

Comment #1:

I commented on “T.O.W Week 2- Grammar Girl” by Jenni Molitor on January 27, 2010. This is what I said:

“I feel like this is a combination of words that nobody has perfected. The whole double negative thing gets me every time! It is interesting to learn about this, though. I feel like I could take a whole class on using “neither” and “nor.” This post definitely makes me conscious of using the words! I’ll try and remember these tips next time I say them. Thanks for the help!”

Comment #2:

I commented on “Twittering, tweeting, texting, Tweeps, Twitterverse!” by Whitney Gonzalez on January 27, 2010. This is what I said:

“That is crazy to think that those terms are professionally acceptable! It just shows how integral theses technologies are becoming in people’s lives. It is interesting to see words like “Twittering” expressed in style-books. I wonder, too, what other words are mentioned in books like the AP. This was a very interesting post!”

Comment #3:

I commented on “Grammar Girl had a case of writer’s block…” by Megan Ginger on February 2, 2010. This is what I said:

“I have never thought about just sitting down and writing randomly whenever I get writer’s block! I always assume that I need to get away from the paper ASAP. I will have to try that out next time and see if it works! I know for me, I always feel better about doing any kind of schoolwork, especially writing papers and such, when my room is clean and dim-lit. Try cleaning up your area to rid your mind of clutter and then shutting off the lights with the exception of a few lamps and maybe opened blinds. That is how I always get things done!”

Comment #4:

I commented on “Topic of the Week: Week 2” by Kyle White on February 2, 2010. This is what I said:

“It is crazy to stop and think about just how often these words get used. Once you have it in your mind that “uh” and “like” are overused, you really begin to notice when people say them over and over again. I am going to try and catch myself saying them and let there be a pause, like you said. I think people are afraid of awkwardness in silences; I know I don’t like them! However, I think that it is a cultural issue, speaking to people with all of these filler words. It sounds casual and normal for the most part. It is time, though, to think of professionals at public speaking. They probably are confident enough to embrace the little pauses in between thoughts. One thing that I need to work on, as well, is making my speech more clear and concise. Thanks for your blog!”

Comment #5:

I commented on “*floating around in the pr world*” by Mikelle Liette on February 23, 2010. This is what I said:

“Thanks for this! I didn’t realize that every post should be interactive but I guess when I am reading posts, that is something I always look for. Usually an image or a video catch my attention. It makes me more interested and ready to read up. That is what I will have to start doing from now on. I enjoyed reading this. The dos and dont’s were great as well. I didn’t know that a headline shouldn’t be clever. I guess I’m a newbie at this sort of thing but it seems like a headline should be catchy and try to persuade people to read it. Looks like I have a lot to learn!”

Comment #6:

I commented on “Great Interview Tips-PR Connections” by Tara Parker on February 23, 2010. This is what I said:

“I really liked this! Even though I only saw 2 of the tips… the page wouldn’t open up for the rest. The comments that other people left though really were helpful, too. If you didn’t see those, I would go back and look at them. One person said to make sure that you follow up with a phone call or note in the mail after an interview. The person said that he or she was the one who got the job they applied for because nobody else followed up. I will definitely make sure to do that when I start having interviews!”

Comment # 7:

I commented on “Loving Change” by Emmanuel Colon on April 12, 2010. This is what I said:

“That is so crazy to think that McDonald’s has coined a phrase that is grammatically incorrect. I wonder, though, if it was intentional. Some brands misspell words on purpose or play on words in different phrases. Whether it was a mistake or not, it still is funny to hear. I would have never know it was wrong-it sounds okay to me! That just proves how in depth grammar can be and how much we learn strictly by what we hear. Grammar girl needs to come to school and teach us a thing or too. Actually, I guess we could just keep checking out her articles to find out what we’re doing wrong. Oh, the luxury of technology. :)”

Comment # 8:

I commented on “TOW Weeks 9 and 10” by Noelle Cottom on April 12, 2010. This is what I said:

“I thought PROpenMic was very interesting as well! Like you, I am not looking into going in the Public Relations career field. I am a Communications major hoping to get a job in graphic design, or something of the sort. The part of the website that I found most useful is the Jobs/Interns tab up at the top. You might have already seen this, but if you haven’t you definitely need to take a peek! You can type in a search or jobs or internships in whatever field you want to go into and it will find them for you. I got back some useful information that I am currently looking into from that site. :)”

Comment # 9:

I commented on “Three Words Every PR Pro Should Ban” by Danielle DeBoulay on April 12, 2010. This is what I said:

“I am glad I stumbled upon this! Now hopefully I will not fall into the trap of overused grammar. It seems like there are so many unforeseen rules to writing a good press release- it kind of makes me nervous! I suppose, though, that these are all personal preferences and while Mr. Kerr thinks these words are overused, many other people looking for press releases may not even notice. I will still try to keep them to a minimum, though-just in case! I looked up some replacement words on thesaurus.com in case you really need to convey that excitement. The best ones I found were: enthusiastic, delighted, inspired, moved, touched, elated and privileged. Now maybe out of those, there are a couple that would not be as overused. ”

Comment # 10:

I commented on “Twitter, the Bird With a Loud Voice” by Tara Duffy on April 12, 2010. This is what I said:

“The reason I wanted to read this was because of the picture you used! I don’t know why but it is just so colorful and eye-catching. You also have a very good title. It’s clever and also made me want to read it. So good job there! I must say when Professor Nixon told us we had to get a Twitter I was thinking, “you got to be kidding me!” I thought it would just be a waste of time and completely pointless. So when I tried it out, I too started following people and realized it was a little bit more interesting and useful than i thought! (I really just liked following the celebrities 🙂 ) Anyway, when we were told we could get rid of it I did; it was just another something to take time away. Perhaps sometime in the future I will give it another shot though. Maybe I’ll find the usefulness you found in it. :)”

Comment # 11:

I commented on “What Can We Learn From Dating Sites” by Whitney Gonzalez on April 12, 2010. This is what I said:

“Okay, your profile proves this point to a “T!” As I was going through your blog, I noticed how almost every one of your posts has a picture to look at. It makes it so much more pleasing to look at and attracted me to read some of them. This picture was interesting too and I loved your post. It is so true-when there is a picture or graphic, it makes the whole thing seem much more in depth. I never thought about it in this way- of looking at it like a dating site profile. It makes sense, though. Thanks for this post! :)”

Comment # 12:

I commented on “Visitor Jeff Houck” by Rena Kosiek on April 13, 2010. This is what I said:

“I thought that was neat to hear him say too. For some reason I always thought that if there was someone I wanted to try and network with, a friendship or at least some sort of “working together for so long” foundation had to be set before I could talk to them about anything else. If you really stop to think about it though, people are people. And people generally like meeting people (especially people in the PR world) and getting to know them. I was glad to hear that we don’t need to be so intimidated!”

Comment # 13:

I commented on “Passion For Blogging?” by Rena Kosiek on April 13, 2010. This is what I said:

“I definitely agree with you! I think it is important that bloggers are passionate about their writing so that it shows in their creativity and good ideas. However, if that passion is so intense that they forget their professionalism, then it becomes a problem. People to me do not look credible if they throw around foul language all of the time and start “dissing” people all over public. I understand that people have jobs to critique things. There is a line that should be drawn though. And that line shouldn’t reach into constantly using disrespectful language.”

Comment # 14:

I commented on “The Stew with Jeff Houck” by Megan Linder on April 13, 2010. This is what I said:

“I’m glad you have so many notes on what he said. He said a lot but the things I actually remembered were limited–don’t you hate when that happens! Anyway, I did remember that he said not to sell a product, but to sell a story. That is a very interesting way of putting it because if you are literally trying to sell a product for a client, it is more natural to try and get people to buy it. I guess a story would be more interesting though. So I was glad that he pointed that out. Thanks for the notes on the pointers by the way! :)”

Comment # 15:

I commented on “PR Connections: Social Media vs. Traditional Media” by Lisa McLaughlin on April 13, 2010. This is what I said:

“I think that topic is one that has been coming up a lot lately. In my Communications Theory class we discuss (at least once a week) whether or not the traditional media sources that we use today will always be around. Things such as newspapers, magazines and even radio seem to all be falling away to more web-based sources. Many news stations have online segments and a lot of them post their stories online. Social media though can often become a go-to thing for me. I was listening to podcast (The Hobson & Holtz Report) and they were talking about how an earthquake hit in LA and within 2 minutes there had already been over 800 Tweets verifying the information. It is crazy to think how social media sites work and impact people so much.”

Comment # 16:

I commented on “PR Professional Interview with Eden Gordon” by Jenni Molitor on April 13, 2010. This is what I said:

“Thanks for sharing that Jenni! It is nice to know I am not the only one that gets nervous to talk to people in the professional world. One thing I have come to learn and notice is that people in PR are usually not stingy with their advice. I wonder if that is because it is a consistent learning experience for everyone involved. It is all about networking so maybe the see every conversation as an opportunity to do that. I may be wrong but that is something I have conjured up in my mind. :)”

Comment # 17:

I commented on “Social Media News Release. Final Project for Comm 4333” by Mikelle Liette on April 19, 2010. This is what I said:

“I just want to tell you that all of your posts are very enjoyable and easy to read. And I definitely think that even though I had to write my own rendition of this same topic, after reading yours I feel like i still left learning something. Thanks for always having well-organized posts that are informative and well-written! You always have good links to get to other places related to your posts which is helpful. I know this isn’t all that specific to this particular post but I was reading it and realized that you should know! 🙂 So good job!”

Comment # 18:

I commented on “Top 10 Things to remember when Blogging” by Mikelle Liette on April 19, 2010. This is what I said:

“I agree with all of these tips! You gave some really good advice for people who are just starting out blogging, or people who have been blogging but just want to improve it. Blogging is just like any other kind of writing which means it is vital to proofread. I agree that sometimes when writing, it is easy to put down something that makes sense in your own mind but would look weird to someone else. Although it does take a little bit of extra time, correcting a few mistakes can probably sometimes make or break credibility amongst other people.”

Comment # 19:

I commented on “T.O.W. 12” by Jeni Molitor on April 20, 2010. This is what I said:

“It’s funny I listened to some of their podcasts too and going into it I had preconceptions about what it would be like. I was surprised by some of the topics and it sounds like you were too. I was unpleasantly surprised, I just didn’t know they would jump around so much in their topics. I didn’t know, though, that Facebook let information slip. That’s scary because that makes me wonder if other websites that actually have important information could have errors like that. Listening to things like this are useful for information, it is almost like news in an audio clip! I might just start listening to more of them. ”

Comment # 20:

I commented on “T.O.W. 13” by Jeni Molitor on April 20, 2010. This is what I said:

“Haha, Jeni your very first sentence made me laugh. You said, “The easiest way to fix this problem is to not do these things.” I agree with you though! Some people make stupid mistakes without even giving it a thought. Some, though, don’t realize that it’s annoying to journalists. That’s why it’s good that people like you blog to tell them about it! I can see how all of these things can be annoying to them. Especially not meeting deadlines. I also think number nine is especially true. I would feel bad if someone questioned my professionalism if I were them. Unless there’s a legitimate reason of course. ”

Comment # 21:

I commented on “TOW 11-Infographics” by Tara Parker on April 20, 2010. This is what I said:

“First of all, I want to tell you that I love how colorful your blog is! It makes me want to read it all. Also, your pictures are very helpful–they caught my eye! Anyway, about infographics, I think they work the same way as any other picture. Just like your pictures that drew me in to read on, infographics do the same. They are even more than that though, they give information in an interesting way. Like you said, “a picture paints a thousand words!” Imagine trying to explain that Disney World map with words… it would take a lot! The infographic, though, explains it all. I think every company should incorporate them into brochures or whatever they use to explain their services.”

Comment # 22:

I commented on “Writing for the ‘EAR’!” by Danielle Suarez on April 21, 2010. This is what I said:

“I like the fact that you mentioned that we should write like we are having a conversation. I was reading something else this week that said that, too. I guess it makes it seem more sincere instead of forced and mechanical. That is a good thing to practice in PR because most ordinary, everyday people don’t relate to “highly educated” words. That didn’t make the most sense but that is the only way I could explain it. I won’t be going into the Public Relations field, but this course helped me too, just in the idea of becoming a better writer. That can always be a help to anyone in any field.”

Comment # 23:

I commented on “Language of the Image” by Danielle Suarez on April 21, 2010. This is what I said:

“I really like how you described photography. Especially where you said, “It can tell a story, stir people to action, and leave people with their jaws dropped.” That is so true. A photo can explain things more than a hundred or even a thousand words sometimes. I feel like a picture speaks to a different part of the brain. At least for me that is, because that is how I learn the best–through pictures. I used to also be the kind of person to just snap a picture and judge the quality on what people’s faces were doing or who’s eyes were closed… Now, I feel like I look beyond those things and try to capture pictures based on the subject but also with lighting, mood and all that stuff in mind as well. ”

Comment # 24:

I commented on “10 Ways to Drive a Journalist CRAZY” by Tiffany Zellner Harris. This is what I said:

“This was funny–I was looking at all of your points, not knowing that they were sarcastic. I was like, “Jeff Houck said to actually be-friend journalists and talk to them in person, this doesn’t make sense!” Haha. I also had most of these points in my blog. I was surprised about the embargo date, though. I feel like in all of my PR classes we learn about them, but if journalists don’t like them, than why do we still get taught to use them? I guess they are for emergencies or absolutely necessary situations. This was a good compilation. :)”

Comment # 25

I commented on “Visual Learning” by Emmanuel Colon on April 21, 2010. This is what I said:

“I like your post Emmanuel. Not only was it clear, concise and easy to read, but it was broken up into paragraphs which made it easier on the eye. Sometimes people write one huge paragraph of information and it doesn’t even look appealing to read. I like how you incorporated information about different programs people can use to make these infographics. I have read a lot of people’s posts on this topic and I think you are the first one (that I saw) to mention that. I am a Mac user, but I didn’t really know anything about Numbers. I didn’t even know if was for Macs, haha. Good post!”

Comment # 26:

I commented on “Open Mic” by Emmanuel Colon on April 21, 2010. This is what I said:

“Okay, first of all, I want to comment on the last topic you spoke about here. I totally agree that sometimes it is not necessarily about what you know, ,but who you know. That is why even I, a communications major with an interest in graphic design, can find use from sites like these. PR people don’t have to be the only ones to network. Networking is a must for almost everyone now days. Your post was very informative to me, even though I have looked into the website myself. There is a lot to keep learning about with all of these sites. I didn’t realize there was a place for instant chat. That is great because that means you can talk instantly with people you may want to work with/for. Very informative!”

 

Leave a Reply

